"Else" line in condition nodes

User avatar
DjSapsan
Script
Script
Posts: 48

"Else" line in condition nodes

Post#1 » 05 Aug 2018, 11:18

Request: add "Else" line in condition nodes. When condition is true - regular output will executing. When condition is false and node has a line from "Else" output - regular output will be skipped and "Else" output will executing.
You should say that you can put nodes after this condition or create copy of first node with inverse. But in some cases its not working. Lets look.
I have setup. One bot trying to set tags on other bot. Before this case targeted bot has tags 1 and 5.
In next step i have insulting situation - bot got wrong tags. In screenshot i catch this moment. First condition was true and targeted bot is tagged 3 now. Its intended behavior. But then next condition is true now! Its instantly remove tag 3 and put tag 2 for bot C. In battle i even cant see that targeted bot has tag 3. Bot instantly has tags 1 2 5.
123.jpg
123.jpg (83.62 KiB) Viewed 1668 times

"Else" line can solve this issue (and other problems too). With current logic its impossible to have correct order in one tick... instead i should use twice harder logic for split operations in several ticks + waste tags.
234.jpg
234.jpg (138.72 KiB) Viewed 1668 times

Norljus
Algorithm
Algorithm
Posts: 55

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#2 » 05 Aug 2018, 15:35

+1

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2914

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#3 » 05 Aug 2018, 20:38

Your bug exists because tag actions don't stop AI check.

Norljus
Algorithm
Algorithm
Posts: 55

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#4 » 06 Aug 2018, 11:37

GFX47 wrote:Your bug exists because tag actions don't stop AI check.

But an else path might still be usefull, isn't it.

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2914

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#5 » 06 Aug 2018, 11:52

Yes but it would be confusing to mix the existing "counterclockwise check" principle with it.

Norljus
Algorithm
Algorithm
Posts: 55

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#6 » 06 Aug 2018, 12:19

GFX47 wrote:Yes but it would be confusing to mix the existing "counterclockwise check" principle with it.

Not when the else exit of a condition is to the right of the normal exit. Or what do you mean ?

User avatar
DjSapsan
Script
Script
Posts: 48

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#7 » 06 Aug 2018, 13:10

Yea I dont mind about bug. Its just request. Clockwise and counterclockwise principle doesnt matter indeed. I can put output in any side any direction. Guess will look better with "else" ouptut in right side.

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2914

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#8 » 07 Aug 2018, 04:27

Yes it matters! The whole system is based on it.

User avatar
DjSapsan
Script
Script
Posts: 48

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#9 » 07 Aug 2018, 12:29

i mean its for me doesnt matter. You will decide what there will be in which order. We just asking for "else" output without additional requests. Some way to ignore next nodes if first condition is true.

masterplayer
Algorithm
Algorithm
Posts: 68

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#10 » 09 Aug 2018, 13:14

GFX47 +1
else -1

User avatar
DjSapsan
Script
Script
Posts: 48

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#11 » 15 Aug 2018, 12:52

will this request put to the roadmap?

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2914

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#12 » 16 Aug 2018, 15:09

I don't recommend this feature so, sorry but no.

User avatar
DjSapsan
Script
Script
Posts: 48

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#13 » 16 Aug 2018, 18:15

how to stop execution then?

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2914

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#14 » 17 Aug 2018, 13:45

Stop execution?

Monger81
Script
Script
Posts: 12

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#15 » 24 Aug 2018, 17:44

Isn't the counter-clockwise evaluation already an "else"?
Actually an elseif, I guess.

ElvenMonk
Neural Network
Neural Network
Posts: 238

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#16 » 24 Aug 2018, 18:12

Monger81 wrote:Isn't the counter-clockwise evaluation already an "else"?
Actually an elseif, I guess.


Well, not for intantly executed actions (like tagging). And tagging actions simply don't deserve such an exception from common AI evaluation logic.

Monger81
Script
Script
Posts: 12

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#17 » 24 Aug 2018, 18:41

ElvenMonk wrote:Well, not for intantly executed actions (like tagging). And tagging actions simply don't deserve such an exception from common AI evaluation logic.

Well, this bears the question why tagging behaves differently, at all. Tagging could require aiming, or could wear off, or could have a cooldown effect, or...it feels kind of cheap that it doesnt require time.

masterplayer
Algorithm
Algorithm
Posts: 68

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#18 » 24 Aug 2018, 22:49

Monger81 wrote:Well, this bears the question why tagging behaves differently, at all. Tagging could require aiming, or could wear off, or could have a cooldown effect, or...it feels kind of cheap that it doesnt require time.

We had this. Tagging was kind of useless back then.

User avatar
DjSapsan
Script
Script
Posts: 48

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#19 » 25 Sep 2018, 22:37

I guess that everyone misunderstand me. "Else" line not related to order of execution. Im not talking about "Else" node. Im asking about line. Order of execution will remain the same - from left to right. Conditional node will have two outputs for true and false:
else.jpg
else.jpg (111.87 KiB) Viewed 1318 times

Its similar to two independent nodes and have regular execution order:
unknown.png
unknown.png (57.3 KiB) Viewed 1318 times

But "Else" output will solve some impossible cases that described above. I repeat, execution order will remain the same.

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3389

Re: "Else" line in condition nodes

Post#20 » 26 Sep 2018, 11:44

Yes doing an else with separated nodes is not always that easy.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests