not exist should count as out of range?

User avatar
Hairy Phil
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 152
Contact:

not exist should count as out of range?

Post#1 » 01 Mar 2018, 01:38

I tried "move to friendly base out of range of enemy" when all enemies were dead, and it didn't trigger. I understand why it happened, but I interpret this as "there are no enemies in range" which would be true, so I think this is a bug, but maybe there is a different interpretation?

(Because the distance aggregator is OR not AND, I can't do "base not at short and not at medium and not at long range".)

WASP103
Script
Script
Posts: 36

Re: not exist should count as out of range?

Post#2 » 01 Mar 2018, 08:01

I've stumbled across this in multiple ocassions as well.
So basically, I had to put another node parallell which states "OR enemies don't exist" to restore node operation.

I think that with no enemy present, logically there's also no enemy in range. - So it should work.

So I'd say +1 to phil's idea of flagging it as a bug.

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2913

Re: not exist should count as out of range?

Post#3 » 01 Mar 2018, 08:20

Could you please share a screenshot of the AI debugger when it happens?

WASP103
Script
Script
Posts: 36

Re: not exist should count as out of range?

Post#4 » 01 Mar 2018, 09:25

cheers
Of course this stems from the true check being "closest bubble with an OOR Enemy existing".


if enemies around, closest bubble OOR of enemy is valid:
enemy_OOR_exists.jpg
enemy_OOR_exists.jpg (57.24 KiB) Viewed 535 times




If all enemies dead, closest bubble OOR of enemy is invalid:
enemy_OOR_exists_NOT.jpg
enemy_OOR_exists_NOT.jpg (69.93 KiB) Viewed 535 times

User avatar
Hairy Phil
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 152
Contact:

Re: not exist should count as out of range?

Post#5 » 01 Mar 2018, 13:08

No enemies, but my bots can't find an out of range of enemies base:

Screenshot_20180301-012244~2.png
Screenshot_20180301-012244~2.png (1.51 MiB) Viewed 526 times

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2913

Re: not exist should count as out of range?

Post#6 » 01 Mar 2018, 17:40

Oh OK.
Indeed, I hesitated on this one but technically, there's no enemy so there's no enemy out of range ^^

User avatar
Hairy Phil
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 152
Contact:

Re: not exist should count as out of range?

Post#7 » 01 Mar 2018, 18:34

Okay. Yes, it is logical at the moment. Just checking.

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests