App won't open

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

App won't open

Post#1 » 14 Feb 2018, 19:04

When I open the app it takes about 2 minutes to load then it crashes. I don't get to the menu.

Not sure if it's due to the amount of user data the so it's using

Screenshot_20180214-175659.png
Screenshot_20180214-175659.png (128.51 KiB) Viewed 895 times
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

Re: App won't open

Post#2 » 14 Feb 2018, 19:05

Deleting the app cache doesn't do anything
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

User avatar
Hairy Phil
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 147
Contact:

Re: App won't open

Post#3 » 14 Feb 2018, 19:15

Just for comparison:

Screenshot_20180214-191222.png
Alpha 12 on a Nexus6P running Android 8.1.
Screenshot_20180214-191222.png (112.43 KiB) Viewed 884 times
Last edited by Hairy Phil on 17 Feb 2018, 21:19, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Posts: 2861

Re: App won't open

Post#4 » 14 Feb 2018, 20:07

Could you guys check your device files in Android/com.GFX47.Gladiabots and tell me what is taking so much space?

User avatar
Hairy Phil
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 147
Contact:

Re: App won't open

Post#5 » 14 Feb 2018, 20:42

To be clear, my app is working. I'm just providing a control sample to help MrChris.

My cache contains mainly 50MB of Unity advertisements.

My 78MB of "user data" does not seem to be stored in that Gladiabots folder.

Screenshot_20180214-203143.png
Screenshot_20180214-203143.png (235.87 KiB) Viewed 880 times
Last edited by Hairy Phil on 17 Feb 2018, 21:19, edited 1 time in total.

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

Re: App won't open

Post#6 » 14 Feb 2018, 23:32

I'm not sure where all that data is stored.

There is only 27mb in /Android/data/com.GFX47.Gladiabots
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Posts: 2861

Re: App won't open

Post#7 » 14 Feb 2018, 23:36

I'm lost here...
The only solution I have for you right now is to uninstall and reinstall the game + sync back to your current account.
I'd really like to know where those 255MB are though.

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

Re: App won't open

Post#8 » 14 Feb 2018, 23:40

Done. The game loads up a LOT quicker now.

Can you link my new username MrChris.v2 to MrChris? Thanks!
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Posts: 2861

Re: App won't open

Post#9 » 14 Feb 2018, 23:55

Done.
Still OK after sync?
How much user data after that?

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

Re: App won't open

Post#10 » 15 Feb 2018, 00:25

I didn't reinstall the app I simply deleted all user data using the "clear data" function.

I now have 1.13MB of user data after the sync.
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

Re: App won't open

Post#11 » 15 Feb 2018, 00:34

seems like some data is just building up as time goes by? this could explain the increased laginess some have reported and what I saw myself
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Posts: 2861

Re: App won't open

Post#12 » 15 Feb 2018, 00:43

Looks like it...
For how long did you have the game installed?

MrChris
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 170

Re: App won't open

Post#13 » 15 Feb 2018, 00:48

Couldn' say. Quite a long time now
------------------------------------------------
My in-game name is MrChris

Creator of the unofficial Gladiabots stats page: https://gladiabots-stats.info.tm/mrchris
And the Gladiabots retreatment simulator: https://cmrichards.github.io/glad_simulation

jkjkjkjk
Hello World
Hello World
Posts: 2

Re: App won't open

Post#14 » 20 Feb 2018, 22:37

Hi, I'm a brand new user and had the same symptom on my android phone after maybe 8 hours of usage. After reading this thread, I deleted my user data (100 MB) but I now have lost all my AIs. I read the post on user sync but am not clear how I sync back my data to my device. My username is jkjkjkjk but when I go to career mode now and enter that, it just tells me that username is already taken.

Any advice? I'd really rather not re-create my AI from memory :)

I've played quite a few competitive programming games over the years, but this is by far the most elegant I've seen, congrats on the achievement!

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Posts: 2861

Re: App won't open

Post#15 » 22 Feb 2018, 22:44

jkjkjkjk wrote:I read the post on user sync but am not clear how I sync back my data to my device


Choose a new name and post it here, I'll do the rest.

jkjkjkjk
Hello World
Hello World
Posts: 2

Re: App won't open

Post#16 » 23 Feb 2018, 00:10

Thanks for the offer, but I did actually end up just re-building my AI from scratch and it's way better than what I had before, so I'm fine! I just broke 1600... thanks! Amazing game, I'm evangelizing it to my developer friends.

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3339

Re: App won't open

Post#17 » 01 Mar 2018, 22:05

Ok after mentioning in the thread for the account synch that gladiabots does not start. It happened again.

So last time around 13.00 of today I closed it correctly and now it does not open (also it loads for 2-3minutes as it did even when it worked).

I cleared the cache without wiping all the data but still it does not work. What do I do? I also made a video to collect the behavior in comparison with rovio "bad piggies".
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Posts: 2861

Re: App won't open

Post#18 » 02 Mar 2018, 01:00

It doesn't open or or it loads indefinitely?
I'd like to see the video and the logs if you can get them from the console (hold 3 fingers on the screen for a few seconds and use the top right corner cogwheel icon).

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3339

Re: App won't open

Post#19 » 02 Mar 2018, 10:54

I'm uploading the video. It needs 2 hours.

No chance to get the logs.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3339

Re: App won't open

Post#20 » 02 Mar 2018, 11:01

Anyway what do I do in the meanwhile? I don't play?

If I have to clear the data I'm going to uninstall and reinstall the entire gladiabots. Maybe it helps to clean up some pesky config errors.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

Return to “Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest