Page 1 of 1

[Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 14:06
by GFX47
As you may already know, the way AIs are checked is changing in Alpha 10.

Before Alpha 10, it was checked from left to right using the nodes horizontal position.

Alpha10_AI_check_before.jpg
Alpha10_AI_check_before.jpg (109.27 KiB) Viewed 3172 times


From Alpha 10, it will be checked anticlockwise using the parent link angle.

Alpha10_AI_check_after.jpg
Alpha10_AI_check_after.jpg (108.57 KiB) Viewed 3172 times


Be sure to check and eventually fix your AIs when updating to Alpha 10!

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 14:20
by LuBeNo
What if 2 nodes share the exact same angle, but one connection is longer? (the snap to grid encourages this)
It should fall back to left to right then!?
2 nodes.png
2 nodes.png (1.99 KiB) Viewed 3167 times


What if 2 nodes share the exact same position. (is it possible - should it be possible?)

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 14:26
by GFX47
It's currently not handled, resulting in an undetermined behavior (do it at your own risks!).
I'll handle it to fallback to the left to right node position in the next version.

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 14:57
by Kanishka
GFX47 wrote:It's currently not handled, resulting in an undetermined behavior (do it at your own risks!).
I'll handle it to fallback to the left to right node position in the next version.


Tested... The Node closer to parent is evaluated first.

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 14:58
by GFX47
It actually depends on other factors that may make it look random.

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 21:52
by Miojo
How about nodes above the parent ?

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 13 Sep 2017, 22:06
by GFX47
The angle is computed between the vertical above the parent and the link, anticlockwise.

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 14 Sep 2017, 13:53
by Jeffrey Harpen
Damn, I have to rearrange all my AIs... :(
On the other hand it's good opportunity to get rid of some garbage and make my AIs clean and tidy. :) (Finally!) ;)

Re: [Alpha 10] AI check order change

Posted: 14 Sep 2017, 18:55
by mcompany
http://nooooooooooooooo.com/

Fine, I'll see what I have to fix