Alpha 5.3.1

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3380

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#21 » 08 Dec 2016, 18:40

NullPointer wrote:GFX, was I supposed to find matches cross league 10 minutes before 5.3.1 was public?


side question: did they affect your score/games played ?
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2895

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#22 » 08 Dec 2016, 18:43

pier4r wrote:
NullPointer wrote:GFX, was I supposed to find matches cross league 10 minutes before 5.3.1 was public?


side question: did they affect your score/games played ?


Maybe someone playing 5.3.0. And nope (theoretically).

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3380

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#23 » 08 Dec 2016, 18:50

I just got promoted with the testing account to league2. League1 is not easy if one meet other players that have not so bugged tactics.

I mean my first AI done out of my head (since I was used to league4) got 10 consecutive losses.

The matchmaking felt good, of course I met the few that were playing but absolutely not always the same.

I'll use the testing account until I get grip of the situation with the rule change.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

User avatar
NullPointer
Autonomous Entity
Autonomous Entity
Posts: 539

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#24 » 08 Dec 2016, 18:58

Pier4r is right, it didn't change my score.

I just had 2 more games against another league, I guess they were games created using 5.3.0. The matches don't stay in the order they were created, I noticed they jump around depending on their status.

PS: this is with a dummy account on my phone

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2895

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#25 » 08 Dec 2016, 19:12

The matches are sorted by last commit time if I'm not mistaken (I'm not home). So you a new result pops up.

I've disabled older versions so you shouldn't see any more cross league matches.

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3380

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#26 » 08 Dec 2016, 21:21

report: league1 and league2 are really enjoyable. I mean, i feel no need to get higher (because it means even more work).

Aside from losing bots by demotion, since the opponents have the same possibilities that I have, I really do not see problem. Every league is highly enjoyable (and not trivial)
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3380

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#27 » 08 Dec 2016, 22:21

I am in league3, I just won a guy (optimus) that likely is in league4 now (likely he deployed the game before being promoted). I got the points (+17).

Question, does the +17 affect only me or he gets also a -17?
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2895

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#28 » 08 Dec 2016, 22:55

He also gets -17

User avatar
NullPointer
Autonomous Entity
Autonomous Entity
Posts: 539

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#29 » 08 Dec 2016, 23:11

Found a minor bug:

- Press fast-forward
- Press play
- Fast-foward button is still greyed out
- Hover mouse over Fast-forward button
- Button is active again

Same for the slow motion button.

Platform: OS X

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2895

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#30 » 08 Dec 2016, 23:24

Image

Thanks for reporting it.
Can I send you another build to test?

User avatar
Ritter Runkel
Neural Network
Neural Network
Posts: 498

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#31 » 08 Dec 2016, 23:26

:mrgreen: :lol: 5.3 is online, thx GFX

The new set of rules seems to be very funny. I have much fun creating new AIs and see how they behave. Due to the fact, that the matches are not so choreographed (yet?) it it very interesting to see the effect and improve.

User avatar
NullPointer
Autonomous Entity
Autonomous Entity
Posts: 539

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#32 » 08 Dec 2016, 23:37

GFX47 wrote:Can I send you another build to test?


Sure.

Btw, do you have any clues why the resolution is so low in a retina screen? AFAIK Unity supports it by default.

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2895

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#33 » 08 Dec 2016, 23:42

NullPointer wrote:Btw, do you have any clues why the resolution is so low in a retina screen? AFAIK Unity supports it by default.


Don't you have a launcher allowing you to change the game resolution when you start the game?

User avatar
NullPointer
Autonomous Entity
Autonomous Entity
Posts: 539

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#34 » 08 Dec 2016, 23:44

Yes, I select 2880x1800 with "fantastic" quality.

Is it normal to get Barred Spiral so many times?

Image

User avatar
GFX47
Dev
Dev
Posts: 2895

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#35 » 09 Dec 2016, 00:04

Here's a new version for Mac:
https://developer.cloud.unity3d.com/share/ZJtGfFdI6-/

About the resolution problem, I'll have to investigate.

User avatar
NullPointer
Autonomous Entity
Autonomous Entity
Posts: 539

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#36 » 09 Dec 2016, 00:07

Fixed. Nice one, thanks!

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#37 » 09 Dec 2016, 05:33

Beware! Hell yeah, that's right: There's a new sheriff in town. Presenting, the Multi-Tasker Omega!

P.S. Dr D, technically you can access and/or copy our AIs, ain't that right?
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#38 » 09 Dec 2016, 05:40

The reason I wrote this, is that the MT Omega is EXTREMELY complicated, which results in very long load times while switching AI. Could you somehow make it quicker?

Second, why does Gladiabots use up so much Battery? I'm struggling even with a 4000MAh Battery! Yesterday, I played for 3 hours straight, and was down from 70% to 10%. Help. I wanna play for even longer spans of time. ;)
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3380

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#39 » 09 Dec 2016, 08:23

Minor bug (or at least I think it is unwanted).

In relation to this: https://trello.com/c/EnVurVVc

The top players are promoted, but the lower ones (that should be demoted) are not. So in league3 there was a guy with ~980 points and another one with ~1090 points and 1000+ games, players may be tricked to think "ah ok, I can lose a lot of points that I will never leave the league". So this may be misleading.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

pier4r
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 3380

Re: Alpha 5.3.1

Post#40 » 09 Dec 2016, 08:26

Kanishka wrote:Second, why does Gladiabots use up so much Battery? I'm struggling even with a 4000MAh Battery! Yesterday, I played for 3 hours straight, and was down from 70% to 10%. Help. I wanna play for even longer spans of time. ;)


According to your phone and graphics settings, gladiabots uses for sure a lot of cpu (I do think is multithreaded but I do not think is real concurrent processing, like many games, so one core gets maxed out) and likely a lot of GPU. If your phone is powerful, high computational power needs drain the battery pretty fast.

Try to lower the gfx settings.

The rule of thumb is: the cooler is the phone, the less power you are using, likely the less computational needs.
http://www.reddit.com/r/Gladiabots/wiki/players/pier4r_nvidia_shield_k1 -> Gladiabots CHAT, stats, insights and more ;

Return to “Release candidates”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest