My first bot build

Ogre
Hello World
Hello World
Posts: 3

My first bot build

Post#1 » 28 Feb 2017, 01:04

Image
https://imgur.com/gallery/3ChNZ
So this is my first ever bot, I haven't even completed half of practice and I've run only a few careers. Wanted feedback and improvements.

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: My first bot build

Post#2 » 28 Feb 2017, 03:59

Tidy it up. :lol: Great, considering it's your first build. Some idiots *cough* me *cough* do this:

Screenshot_2017-02-28-08-27-56-872_com.GFX47.Gladiabots.png
Mess.
Screenshot_2017-02-28-08-27-56-872_com.GFX47.Gladiabots.png (202.92 KiB) Viewed 1977 times


Advice: Don't.
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

Ogre
Hello World
Hello World
Posts: 3

Re: My first bot build

Post#3 » 28 Feb 2017, 04:12

OH MY GOD THE COMPLEXITY! Is it any good? I feel like you're diamond-super whatever in like the top 20 or something with that bot

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: My first bot build

Post#4 » 28 Feb 2017, 04:19

Ogre wrote:OH MY GOD THE COMPLEXITY! Is it any good? I feel like you're diamond-super whatever in like the top 20 or something with that bot


Not that good. :P Top 120. Grand Master League, Level 7.
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

Ogre
Hello World
Hello World
Posts: 3

Re: My first bot build

Post#5 » 28 Feb 2017, 04:26

God I really do not want to build that huge bot from scratch. It looks daunting. Just building my Ogre was time consuming and frustrating, by the time I would have finished that bot, the game would have been uninstalled and my phone thrown across the room because of a bug in my code.

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: My first bot build

Post#6 » 28 Feb 2017, 05:18

Ogre wrote:God I really do not want to build that huge bot from scratch. It looks daunting. Just building my Ogre was time consuming and frustrating, by the time I would have finished that bot, the game would have been uninstalled and my phone thrown across the room because of a bug in my code.


I built it from Scratch. There will be times when half your bots dance in front of enemies and die, when they hover around resources and don't secure, and then there will be times when you get paired against GFX47 and win. That whole thing wasn't like that from the beginning. First, build a basic sketch of what you want, and then iterate. XPRMNT Alpha grew this big because of Bug Fixes and Improvements. You can do it too. ;)
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: My first bot build

Post#7 » 28 Feb 2017, 05:26

Our conversation prompted me to trace my past... Look what I found. Keep in mind, though, XPRMNT Alpha was built from scratch. I built it after deleting all my previous AIs. Why I deleted everything? Feel free to ask!
Attachments
IMG_20170228_095337.jpg
Antique.
IMG_20170228_095337.jpg (90.83 KiB) Viewed 1968 times
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

User avatar
eKiaM
Hello World
Hello World
Posts: 3

Re: My first bot build

Post#8 » 28 Feb 2017, 10:34

Kanishka wrote:Some idiots *cough* me *cough* do this:


May I ask whats wrong with it?

My first and second last AI looks pretty much the same :D

Edit: Yeah, the one missing link shouldn't be like that :P

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: My first bot build

Post#9 » 28 Feb 2017, 11:32

eKiaM wrote:
Kanishka wrote:Some idiots *cough* me *cough* do this:


May I ask whats wrong with it?

My first and second last AI looks pretty much the same :D

Edit: Yeah, the one missing link shouldn't be like that :P


I meant that it was a mess... XPRMNT Alpha is in no way my first AI.
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

Botique
Algorithm
Algorithm
Posts: 96

Re: My first bot build

Post#10 » 28 Feb 2017, 22:08

Use subroutines.
1. You can reuse parts in different bots
2. You have overview better
3. You can make better experiments.

For example all my bots has the same survival subtree

User avatar
Kanishka
Skynet
Skynet
Posts: 1421
Contact:

Re: My first bot build

Post#11 » 01 Mar 2017, 03:24

Botique wrote:Use subroutines.
1. You can reuse parts in different bots
2. You have overview better
3. You can make better experiments.

For example all my bots has the same survival subtree


I once divided into Sub-Trees... I hated it. Not too necessary when I have just one AI.
Fixes break an AI more than bugs do. :ugeek:

Gladiabots Off-Topic Chat


My Stats: Kanishka_RN3;Kanishka_MiPad

harthag
Automaton
Automaton
Posts: 197

Re: My first bot build

Post#12 » 01 Mar 2017, 03:32

Kanishka wrote:
Botique wrote:Use subroutines.
1. You can reuse parts in different bots
2. You have overview better
3. You can make better experiments.

For example all my bots has the same survival subtree


I once divided into Sub-Trees... I hated it. Not too necessary when I have just one AI.

"Necessary", no. "Useful", maybe. Its a personal preference for the most part. Botique's points are valid, and those are useful aspects of doing it that way. And Kinishka is right that it has drawbacks and might not be the best for everyone.

I'm actually somewhere in the middle. I like the benefits that Botique mentioned, so I actually have only one main AI, and it's divided up into subroutines ...

mcompany
Autonomous Entity
Autonomous Entity
Posts: 872

Re: My first bot build

Post#13 » 01 Mar 2017, 03:37

Personally, what I got used to was separating code for each bot class into separate subtrees, but keeping all of the rest of the code in that particular AI

Return to “Strategies”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest