Page 3 of 3

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 09 Aug 2017, 08:15
by pier4r
More experience: in absence of a list of "opponents challenged recently" I thought that at least one could write a name, select it, copy it. Instead the field for the name (at least in gladiabots) does not allow to copy a name.

This is partially solved by the screen keyboards that remembers a name, but only partially.

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 31 Aug 2017, 11:45
by GFX47
I updated the tournament creation help page:
https://tournaments.gladiabots.com/create

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 31 Aug 2017, 12:52
by TheKidPunisher
Very nice, the delay about player who doesnt deployed is included or we will have to do it manually for the moment?

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 31 Aug 2017, 14:20
by GFX47
Manually for the moment.

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 28 Sep 2017, 20:08
by TheKidPunisher
Cant we select map we want to play on?
I thought we can, but maybe got wrong.

The automatic system works if we do not have maps restriction and just want to play official maps? (I think i will have to modify the rule for my tournament)

Edit: i think i find it, hope it will works

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 28 Sep 2017, 21:51
by GFX47
You can set the map list in the settings/gladiabots menu on the toornament organizer website.

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 02 Oct 2017, 19:23
by TheKidPunisher
GFX, i have no possibilities to select play 3 matches for each round on toornament site.

How your automatic system will work with the best of 3? i need to play the 3game for my tournament but if i remenber, the automatic system will not send the third match if there is already 2-0.

There is a possibility to change that?

If not what happenend for automatic system if i put "no games" in match format?

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 02 Oct 2017, 19:35
by mcompany
Normal irl tournaments don't play the third game if the score is already 2-0. There's no real point in doing so. Why do you need it?

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 02 Oct 2017, 19:39
by GFX47
Image

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 02 Oct 2017, 19:48
by TheKidPunisher
mcompany wrote:Normal irl tournaments don't play the third game if the score is already 2-0. There's no real point in doing so. Why do you need it?


Ok for an elimination tournament but here it is like a league of football

I play table tennis in team, and it is played in 14 match per round and even if we already win 8-0 we have to play the other 6. cause in the league if there is tie in points we have to look the number of match win for all round
So if you dont play your 3 match each round it will not be possible to un-tied particiapant

Or you can propose me another un-tied system that works with teh fact to not play all the match each round (maybe a head-to- head but i hope for no triangle situation)

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 02 Oct 2017, 19:53
by mcompany
Idk, I'm never seen a round robin where playing every match was necessary, and playing every match gives I guess a different picture than playing just settling for a win (just settling for a win shows that the opponent didn't adjust in time, all matches shows the chances of winning). Personally, I don't think it is necessary for your tournament

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 03 Oct 2017, 00:11
by TheKidPunisher
I dont like that cause i am use to the system of my sport which i found great (i am not really objective^^) but i have to adapt to the system integrate to gladiabots so i will find a solution.

I have still some questions,
How the automatic system count a draw match?
I mean, normally with a best of 3. The guy, who have 1win and 2draws, wins the round

The automatic system will start when the tournament date will be reached, no?

The automatic system give the result to toornament site or we still have to report?

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 04 Oct 2017, 09:00
by GFX47
TheKidPunisher wrote:How the automatic system count a draw match?
I mean, normally with a best of 3. The guy, who have 1win and 2draws, wins the round


Toornament doesn't handle draw games correctly.
So when a draw occurs, my system creates a new match to replace it until there's a victory.
Which means that draws are not counted.

TheKidPunisher wrote:The automatic system will start when the tournament date will be reached, no?


No, when the participants will be placed by the organizer.
I think the tournament date is just informative.

TheKidPunisher wrote:The automatic system give the result to toornament site or we still have to report?


Results are automatically transmitted to toornament, you shouldn't have anything to do.

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 04 Oct 2017, 10:08
by TheKidPunisher
GFX47 wrote:
TheKidPunisher wrote:The automatic system will start when the tournament date will be reached, no?


No, when the participants will be placed by the organizer.
I think the tournament date is just informative


I placed participant, they receive email to inform them about the match pairing but they do not receive automatically the matches.
If they dont have them the 8th, i think a problem happen in the automatic system. We will see...

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 04 Oct 2017, 12:28
by GFX47
Let's talk in the appropriate topic.
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1058

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 09 Oct 2017, 19:00
by GFX47
I moved the tournament creation manuel to the wiki:
https://wiki.gladiabots.com/index.php?title=Tournaments

I realize how complicated it may look like so I'll see if I can automate this part via a single/simpler form.

Re: The tournament system

Posted: 09 Oct 2017, 19:23
by Kanishka
GFX47 wrote:I moved the tournament creation manuel to the wiki:
https://wiki.gladiabots.com/index.php?title=Tournaments

I realize how complicated it may look like so I'll see if I can automate this part via a single/simpler form.


manual