Page 1 of 1

Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 21 Feb 2017, 19:10
by Uthael
Here, the idea is to turn at least a half of the mess on the screen into small black boxes that refine inputs into outputs.

At the moment, connectors serve only to make your AIs visually tidy. They do that perfectly. But configuring them is greyed out. Sooo... How about marking a connector as an output? The sub-VI name would get extra dots on the sides or below it, depending on the number of outputs it has. The order of those dots is the same as the order of connectors in the sub-VI.

Now, I'm not sure how the game code is written, but this may also solve the "complex AI loading time" problem (if loading is segmented or the visual representation of the AI causes the problem). But even if it lenghtens that time slightly, the convenience of not having to add, configure and link several modules again and again would be worth it.

Edit: Yeah, in Mass Effect they differentiate Virtual Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence. Sentient software (AI) may be intelligent, but just a VI can't be sentient. I like that and got used to that :D

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 21 Feb 2017, 19:24
by pier4r
I'm not sure, you mean like this? viewtopic.php?f=2&t

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 21 Feb 2017, 22:55
by Uthael
pier4r wrote:I'm not sure, you mean like this? viewtopic.php?f=2&t

"The requested topic does not exist."

Mind copying the whole link?

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 22 Feb 2017, 10:45
by pier4r
Sorry I was from the nvidia shield. viewtopic.php?f=2&t=175&hilit=conditional+subtree

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 22 Feb 2017, 12:00
by Uthael
Yes! Thanks. In fact, I'll paste this there as it seems to be more than related.

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 22 Feb 2017, 13:34
by pier4r
OT: Uthael could you make your signature smaller? Once one sees that your color is blue once, then seeing it always clutter the view.

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 22 Feb 2017, 21:56
by Uthael
pier4r wrote:OT: Uthael could you make your signature smaller? Once one sees that your color is blue once, then seeing it always clutter the view.

Yeah, sure. Why not. I'll remove it. It's a habit from other forums where signatures are even bigger. Guess it stands out too much on this forum... :-/

Re: Outputs for sub-AIs

Posted: 22 Feb 2017, 22:04
by pier4r
You can make a link. Like "my color is blue" linked to the picture if one wants to click.